Multiple arrests and charges for the same offense do not reduce or restrict your ability to obtain legal representation and information about your rights from law. You could think you have no alternative for your condition and are doomed. This is not true. Even if you have been charged with several DUIs, theft, or assault, you still have the right to competent legal representation in court. Check out josephlento.com to get the necessary help.
Every state has a different punitive procedure for repeat offenders.
DUI Penalties The laws in Pennsylvania are spelled out, so if you do not have a competent lawyer on your side who can interpret them, you risk having your rights violated and being overcharged. The penalty for operating a vehicle while having your license suspended due to a DUI has increased under the new rule. Until the second conviction, this is still regarded as a summary offense, but with additional jail time and higher fines.
The following penalties will apply if you commit a third offense under the new law, which is classified as a third-degree misdemeanor:
- A $500 fine and 60 to 90 days in jail are the penalties for the first offense.
- Second offense: $1,000 in fines and at least 90 days in jail.
- Third (or subsequent) offense: $2,500 in fines and at least six months in jail.
Additionally, SB 961 makes a fourth DUI within a 10-year window a felony. If the accused does have a blood alcohol level above.16 percent, a 3rd DUI in ten years will be considered a felony. Previously, these actions were considered misdemeanors and carried a relatively light jail sentence. Now, anybody convicted of several DUIs may have to serve time in prison and suffer the terrible aftereffects of having a felony charge on their record.
Penalties for recurrent theft.
Repeat perpetrators of stealing are penalized according to a value system. This depends on how much the allegedly stolen object or the item is worth. A third crime involving goods worth $1,000 or more is a 3rd-degree felony. If convicted, a person might spend up to 7 years behind bars and pay a $15,000 fine.
Penalties for repeat assault.
In Pennsylvania, there are various assault offenses for which one may be prosecuted. Simple assault and severe assault are two of these. It is the responsibility of the state to establish whether an assault was malicious or intended to cause harm. Depending on the victim’s position, such as an officer’s, the sentence can be up to 20 years.